Disney Animation Timeline (1950-1980s)

Hello! Welcome back to another Disney animation timeline. Today I pick up where my last post ended, so if you have not yet read that one I will link it HERE.

Although I only highlight the animated release dates, there were many other exciting projects the Walt Disney company had going on. This included live-action film productions, opening Disney Land in California (opened on July 15, 1955) and the opening Disney World in Florida (Oct. 1 1977). Of course there was also the creation of Disney Enterprises, Disney contracts with ABC television (The Mickey Mouse Club was born) and land that Walt purchased to start planning EPCOT. Unfortunately, he never got to see it realised, but I’m sure he would be proud of what it has become.

Animated Release timeline.

  • 1951 – Alice and Wonderland released.

  • 1953 – Peter Pan released.

  • 1955 – Lady and the Tramp is released as the first animated feature released in wide- scope cinema technology.

  • 1959 – Sleeping Beauty released.

  • 1961 – 101 Dalmatians released.

  • 1963 – Sword in the Stone released.

  • 1966 – Walt Disney dies on December 15.

  • 1967 – Jungle Book released.

  • 1970 – The Aristocats

  • 1973 – Robin Hood Released.

  • 1977 – The Rescuers and The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh released.

Be sure to follow me on instagram @ Double_j_creative (:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s